It is most definitely not just about the numbers

When you place a geocache, the first thing to think about the location is “why here?”. The Groundspeak guidelines on cache placement begin with this quote:

“When you go to hide a geocache, think of the reason you are bringing people to that spot. If the only reason is for the geocache, then find a better spot.” – briansnat

Today I happened to be in London. I had already done all the local caches on previous visits but I checked the website for any recently published caches. I was pleasantly surprised to find one just up the road at Shepherds Bush Green so after a mid-morning coffee I wandered across the green to look for it.

The geocache was a nano hidden somewhere on some railings. The railings turned out to be for the protection and security of the emergency exits from the underground station and I’m being charitable when I describe them as unattractive. As I approached GZ I tried not to be put off by the down & outs sleeping around the adjacent war memorial and I tried to ignore the discarded gin bottles and beer cans which decorated the railings. The additional decoration provided by some small black plastic bags (which looked suspiciously like dog-poo bags) deserve a special mention. Nevertheless, I decided to have a bit of a search, that is until a scruffy bloke with a staffy arrived and proceeded to walk around the area inside the railings. Enough!

Now, I’m not a big fan of urban caches but I have found quite a few excellent caches in London and I consider my requirement to be both simple and fair:  there needs to be a good reason for bringing me to the location. That could be an awesome view, a site of historic, architectural, archeological, geological or scientific interest – those are good reasons to be at the location. Sticking a cache in a shitty place like this one? As they say in Dragons’ Den, I’m out.

3 thoughts on “It is most definitely not just about the numbers

  1. I totally agree. I’m finding it increasingly difficult to not leave logs giving the CO a thorough bashing for such rubbish placements. Brand new one published near home the other day which the description starts with, ‘It’s a shame about the rubbish…’
    Why, why, why?

    1. Me too, although I haven’t left the CO a note on this one!

      Truth be told I’d much rather be out in the countryside. I used to try to keep my local area clear of unfound caches but the latest crop are just “because it’s there” so they mostly go on my ignore list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

