F1’s target market

Bernie Ecclestone doesn’t see the need to attract youngsters to watch F1 because they don’t have the disposable income to buy the expensive products F1’s sponsors sell. He’s only interested in the “70 year-old guy with lots of cash“. Well judging by the price of a race day ticket his plan is well on the way to fruition. 😛

When I was much younger than I am now, F1 used to be a sport (is there a motor racing equivalent of jumpers for goalposts?). Now F1 is just another multi-billion dollar international business and I’m a bit older. Funnily enough, I have yet to buy my first Rolex.

Looks like I’m not Mr. Ecclestone’s target market just yet.

 

One thought on “F1’s target market

  1. Not surprised by Mr Ecclestone’s comments. Last time I went to Brands Hatch I was really surprised how much a fleece jacket was going for, especially given that it would make me a walking billboard for other non-racing companies.
    As for ‘jumpers for goalpost’racing; could I suggest stock car/banger racing?

Leave a Reply

