A Cache of Nostalgia

Well not exactly. One of our local geocachers has set a great series of puzzle caches, some have been easier to solve than others and one in particular has been bugging me for a while.  The puzzle element for Perplexity 7: Ghost in the Machine (code) centres on, as the name suggests, machine code. For a very old processor. Which, despite the years I’ve been involved with computers (both from  hobby and employment perspectives), I couldn’t remember anything about.

not me

So not a good start. However, it has been nearly 2 months since it was first published and last week I had a bit of luck and discovered the way to solve the puzzle. Having obtained the coords I was able to get to GZ today and bag the find. Plus I’m only the 4th cacher to find this one. Pretty happy with that.

I don’t know about you but I think a spoiler would be unfair to the CO so I’m not going to even hint at how I solved it. So have a look for yourself and see what you think. Even though I haven’t solved all 8 of the series I can heartily recommend them.

Oh, one more thing: good luck!

acorn rom chip

Leave a Reply

