Archiving a cache

Today I had to archive a cache.

This cache was placed near the location of the second cache I found when starting out on this game, as a sort of celebration/anniversary. When I originally placed it I thought I had found the perfect hiding place. Just off a footpath through a small wood near where I live, a tree had fallen across a trail through the wood. Most of the trunk was hollow and this provided a great hiding place. The cache survived in this location for some 19 months, until some mindless yobs decided to destroy the tree, smashing it to pieces and consequently destroying the hiding place.

I attempted to find an alternative location but, to be honest, there wasn’t really anywhere half decent to put the replacement. So yesterday I reluctantly made the decision to archive the cache. It’s a shame but, as I am learning, that’s all part of Geocaching.

Leave a Reply

