Value for money

Well I had my car serviced today. I chose my local Toyota dealer over the local “national” independent garage because it was a 20K service. Pretty good job they did too.

Anyway, I just worked out that it was better value for money than I first thought. The independent would have charged me £185, plus a disposal fee for the old oil, etc. I would have to add to that the cost of changing the rear diff & transfer gear oil (no idea how much that would be). Compare that with £242 at the Toyota dealer. Take off £30 for the courtesy car which I should have paid but negotiated for free. And they gave my filthy car a good clean – a handwash by one of those eastern European outfits typically costs just under a tenner. So that makes the Toyota job about £10 more expensive, if that. And I got decent customer service and a free cup of coffee. Not a bad deal after all, really!

Leave a Reply

